top of page

Street Drinking ban

At Stephen Twigg MP’s ‘Tea with Twigg’ public meeting held in June last year, residents complained about street drinking and aggressive begging. More than 120 people attended the meeting to voice concerns. Stephen and Carol Sung have been demanding action from the Council to tackle the street drinking and aggressive begging in Tuebrook. After the campaign, the Council has agreed to consult residents on the proposal to ban street drinking in the area. “This is a real problem. I have been accosted myself on West Derby Road, and I know how unnerving it can be. I demanded action from the Council to ban street drinking in the area” said Stephen Twigg. “I’m really pleased that the Council is finally taking action”, said Carol Sung. “We’ve lived with this problem for long enough. It can’t be right that residents suffer from aggressive begging.”

The peition is available to sign here.

Carol recently had a letter published in the Liverpool Echo on the subject:

I’ve lived just off West Derby Road for over thirty years and seen how the area has changed. The number of people boozing in the street and begging in an aggressive way is disgraceful. Many Tuebrook residents have told me they are too scared to venture down the ‘Brook for fear of being accosted.

My frustration led to me to organise a petition calling for a street alcohol ban on West Derby Road and the surrounding areas. Hundreds of local residents have signed already and I would like to thank them all. I will keep pressing the Council to listen to local people and implement the ban. We can’t go on like this.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page